Sunday saw another successful Sotonia Summer Road Race take place, featuring seven Sotonia riders: Tim Cooke, Mark Edwards, Tim Dawkins, James Peckham, Phil Wilks, Paul Ransom and Jonathan Hall.

While the fast, hilly start caught out a few riders including Tim C and Mark, they soldiered on, working well together to complete most of the race. In the bunch, our other team riders looked comfortable and all stayed in the bunch to the finish – no small feat given the blistering pace and high level of competition, gaining valuable race experience.

A four man break escaped on the first of 7.5 laps of the tough circuit, and built a lead of 40 seconds. James Peckham made a bid to break free of the bunch shortly after but was brought back before another group of seven formed, leaving the bunch over three minutes down as the race entered the last lap. Ben Marks of Cycleworks sprinted clear to win.

Tim Dawkins finished 26th, James Peckham 31st, Jon Hall 36th, Paul Ransom 37th, Phil Wilks 43rd, Mark Edwards 45th and Tim Cooke 46th. Big respect to first time road racer Jonathan Hall for staying the course! Well done guys, proud of you all!

The race was incident free with not even a flat tyre for neutral service. The commissaires and riders were very complimentary about how well the event was run which is testament to the hard work all the volunteers put in on the day and beforehand. Thank you so much to all the marshals, helpers, cake makers, tea servers, car park attendants and drivers. We couldn’t have done it without you! 🙂


Sotonia Criterium races coming soon

Next up are the Sotonia Criterium Races at Winchester Park & Ride on Sunday 9th August…

[button color=”#ffffff” background=”#f2594b” size=”large” src=”″ target=”_blank”>″]Enter the Sotonia Crits online here[/button]


[gdl_gallery title=”sotonia-road-race-5-7-2015″ width=”186″ height=”130″ ]

Thanks to Graham Robins for the pics. Full race gallery here


Pos Name Club
1 Ben Marks Cycleworks
2 James Boyman Farnham RC
3 Philip Peters Danny Shane – Storck Racing
4 Andrew Pickett Eden Veranda Racing
5 Paul Double Velo Club Venta
6 Liam Walsh VC St Raphael
7 Matthew Downie DHC Racing
8 Kris Jasper
9 David Billings VC St Raphael
10 George Stainton-Ellis ASL Projects Racing Team
11 Daniel Bone I-Team Cyclists’ Club
12 George Smith Gillingham and District Wheelers
13 William Griffiths Veloton Team
14 Scott Michaels Southampton University RC
15 Andrew Gough Velo Club Venta
16 Robert Ward Danny Shane – Storck Racing
17 Steven Whitcher DHC Racing
18 Dominic Judd Velo Club Venta
19 Patryk Rucki Skinline RC
20 Calum Gillespie
21 Rob Yeatman Cotswold Cycles RT
22 Joseph Henstridge NFTO Race Club
23 Theo Webb Velo Club Venta
24 Ryan Weston Poole Whls CC
25 Trevor Smith Cotswold Veldrijden
26 Timothy Dawkins Sotonia CC
27 Thomas Key Southampton University RC
28 Thomas Leach Felt Racing
29 Lewis Martin Eden Veranda Racing
30 Martin Rowland Poole Whls CC
31 James Peckham Sotonia CC
32 James Cooper Rock N Road Cycles
33 Douglas Tandy Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
34 Nicholas O’Hara 3C Cyclexperience
35 James Hywel-Davies Gillingham and District Wheelers
36 Jonathan Hall Sotonia CC
37 Paul Ransom Sotonia CC
38 Ian Taylor Leicester Forest CC
39 Patrick Brown Eden Veranda Racing
40 Patrick Martin WyndyMilla
41 Alex Harding Andover Whls
42 Tim O’Rourke Imperial Racing Team
43 Phil Wilks Sotonia CC
44 Andrew Mackay DHC Racing
45 Mark Edwards Sotonia CC
46 Tim Cooke Sotonia CC