The club held its Annual Dinner and Prize Presentation last weekend at Ampfield Golf Club near Romsey. Guest of honour for the evening was former National 12 hour and 24 hour time trial champion Eamonn Deane from Bournemouth.

Before presenting the prizes to the club’s trophy winners, Eamonn gave an entertaining speech covering some of his exploits on the bike and as an international triathlete. He got his audience involved in his speech through plenty of interaction in the manner of the popular comedian, Al Murray, the pub landlord!

Amongst the big prize winners of the evening were Stuart Martingale from Nursling who was crowned club champion again, and Colin Yeates who was champion at 10 miles as well as producing the best 12 hour ride of the year. Jon Dudley won the season long points competition for men and Wendy Knowlton won the ladies award in the same competition.

Following a vote of members at the club’s annual general meeting Jez Hart collected the trophy for Clubperson of the Year, acknowledging his efforts in producing this great new website and in organising road racing for the club.

The club now starts the forthcoming cycling season in very good shape with 250 members in membership but is also welcoming new riders, especially on their Sunday club runs from North Baddesley.

Stuart Martingale
Stuart Martingale